Ready to know more about San Diego?

Arts & Culture

Poetry Extravaganza: Unprecedented Gathering of Top Poets Celebrating Robert Frost

About the Event

Get ready to dive into the world of poetry like never before! The Robert Frost Society, in collaboration with Library Foundation San Diego, is thrilled to announce an unprecedented event set to engage the San Diego literary scene like never before in March 2024. To celebrate the 150th birthday of Robert Frost, one of America’s most cherished poets, we are bringing together ten of the top poets from across the nation! FREE and open to everyone!

This once-in-a-lifetime Sesquicentennial event will showcase some of the brightest stars in poetry, including Pulitzer Prize-winner Tracy K. Smith, Ruth Lilly Prize-winner Allison Joseph, Pulitzer Prize-finalist Bruce Weigl, and Guggenheim Fellowship winner Jay Parini!

These literary luminaries will take center stage to read and discuss their poems alongside the timeless works of Robert Frost himself, including classics like “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening,” “Mending Wall,” and “The Road Not Taken.”

This gathering isn’t just for the elite few. It’s a celebration for everyone who cherishes the power of words and the magic of poetry. Join us for free public sessions where you can immerse yourself in the beauty of verse, gain insights into Frost’s profound influence, and connect with fellow poetry enthusiasts from around the world. Never before has Frosts’ poetry been so relevant to so much that is happening in our contemporary world. His work cultivates understanding, cooperation, an appreciation for nature, and healing.

Expect an electrifying atmosphere filled with poetry workshops, engaging lectures, and captivating roundtable discussions, all designed to deepen your appreciation for Frost’s legacy and the art of poetry itself.

Complementing this stellar lineup of keynote speakers and readers are renowned poets such as San Diego Poet Laureate Jason Magabo Perez, performance artist Karla Cordero, Poet’s Prize finalist David Yezzi, Ohio Poet Laureate Amit Majmudar, Cave Canem Award winner Ruth Ellen Kocher, and Donald Justice Poetry Prize-winner, Ryan Wilson.

Mark your calendars, spread the word, and get ready to embark on a poetic journey like no other!
For registration and event information

Contact Us

1230 Columbia Street, Suite 800,

San Diego, CA